

For Immediate Release Contact: Jim Warner Director AAFM director@afmissileers.org 719-351-3962

AAFM Announces 8 Scholarship Winners for Active Duty ICBM Professionals

[24 Jan 2022] – In October 2021, the Association of Air Force Missileers (AAFM) announced an inaugural round of competitive scholarships for Airmen supporting the ICBM nuclear deterrence mission. These scholarships are targeted at bridging academic expenses not covered by Military Tuition Assistance. AAFM's objective is to advance the personal and professional growth of those dedicating their service to the current USAF ICBM mission.

Funded by member donations, the inaugural scholarships are named for AAFM pioneer members; Colonel Charlie Simpson (USAF, retired) and Chief Master Sergeant Dick Hochheiser (USAF, retired). The AAFM Board of Directors is proud to announce the award of **eight**, **\$500 scholarships and a free three-year membership in AAFM** to the following active-duty recipients:

TSgt John Beauchamp (90th Logistics Readiness Squadron, F.E. Warren AFB, WY) - Simpson Founders Scholarship recipient. TSgt Beauchamp is missile maintainer serving as the NCOIC of Equipment Support. He is pursuing a bachelor's degree in Supply Chain Management from American Military University.

TSgt Rashan Moore (341 Maintenance Group, Malmstrom AFB, MT) - Hoccheiser Memorial Scholarship recipient. TSgt Moore serves as the Unit Training Manager and is working to complete his bachelor's degree in Aeronautics from Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University in fall of 2022.

TSgt Maricruz Gonzolas (891 Missile Security Forces Squadron, Minot AFB, ND) - Simpson Founders Scholarship recipient. TSgt Gonzolas is the NCOIC of the Commander's Support Staff, a first-generation college student, and mother pursuing a bachelor's degree in Criminal Justice from the University of Texas El Paso.

SSgt Anthony Lingsch (Air Force Nuclear Weapons Center – Technical Order Management Agency, Hill AFB, UT) - Hoccheiser Memorial Scholarship recipient. SSgt Lingsch is a 2MOX1 previously stationed at Minot AFB, ND and is pursuing a bachelor's degree in Business from American Military University.

SSgt Brock Pardue (90th Munitions Squadron, F.E. Warren AFB, WY) - Hoccheiser Memorial Scholarship recipient. SSgt Pardue is a Weapons Maintenance Team Chief who has completed a master's degree in Cyber Security and Information Assurance and is now working toward related technical certifications (Cybersecurity A+, Security+, Certified Ethical Hacking, and PenTest+) at Colorado State University.



Association of Air Force Missileers

SSgt William Hamilton (532 Training Squadron, Vandenberg SFB, CA) - Hoccheiser Memorial Scholarship recipient. SSgt Hamilton is a 2M0X2 Missile Maintenance Instructor with teaching the next generation of maintainers. He is currently pursuing a bachelor's degree in Project Management from American Military University.

SrA Marcela Orozco-Villanueva (90th Force Support Squadron, F.E. Warren AFB, WY) - Simpson Founders Scholarship recipient. SrA Orozco-Villanueva is Missile Field Food Specialist in alert facilities in the 90th Missile Wing while also pursuing a bachelor's' degree in Project Management from the University of Arizona.

SrA Walter Kun (90th Force Support Squadron, F.E. Warren AFB, WY) - Simpson Founders Scholarship recipient. SrA Kun is also a Missile Field Food Specialist supporting the 90th Missile Wing mission, focusing on a bachelor's degree in Animation from the LA Film School to be completed in the spring of 2022.

We are honored to award these scholarships to these outstanding Airman and look forward to continue serving our Airman in the future.

For more information on these awards and scholarships, please visit <u>www.afmissileers.org</u>

Your Association of Air Force Missileers is here for you.